Mississippi Secretary of State

125 South Congress St., P. O. Box 136, Jackson, MS 39205-0136

ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES NOTICE FILING

ADIVIINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES NOTICE FILING AGENCY NAME Mississippi State Board of Medical Licensure		CONTACT PERSON Rhonda Freeman				
ADDRESS 1867 Crane Ridge Drive, Suite 200-B		CITY Jackson	СІТҮ		ZIP 39216	
EMAIL SUBMIT nboard@msbml.ms.gov DATE 3/17/17		Name or number of rule(s):				
	67	nd reason(s) for proposing rule/amo		X7		
reviewed and updated to reflect ch requirement of applicants.	anges in ter	minology, to clarify certain requiren	ents and	to remove the perso	nal appearance	
Specific legal authority authorizing	the promul	ation of rule: 41-58-7				
List all rules repealed, amended, or ORAL PROCEEDING:	suspended	by the proposed rule: Part 2620: Ra	diologist .	Assistants		
An oral proceeding is scheduled	for this rul	on Date: Time: Pla	ce:			
igtiarrow Presently, an oral proceeding is	not schedu	ed on this rule.				
ten (10) or more persons. The written reque notice of proposed rule adoption and should agent or attorney, the name, address, email	est should be s I include the n address, and t ling arguments	nust be held if a written request for an oral p ubmitted to the agency contact person at the ime, address, email address, and telephone r elephone number of the party or parties you , data, and views on the proposed rule/amer	above addr umber of th represent.	ess within twenty (20) day ne person(s) making the re At any time within the twe	ys after the filing of this quest; and, if you are a enty-five (25) day public	
Economic impact statement not	required fo	r this rule. 🗌 Concise summary	of econo	mic impact statemer	nt attached.	
TEMPORARY RULES PROF		PROPOSED ACTION ON RULES	SED ACTION ON RULES FINAL ACTION ON RULES Date Proposed Rule Filed: 01/13/2017			
Original filing			Act	Action taken:		
A CONTRACTOR OF		New rule(s) Amendment to existing rule(s)		X Adopted with no changes in text Adopted with changes		
		Repeal of existing rule(s)			nce	
Immediately upon filing Other (specify): Pro		Adoption by reference oposed final effective date:				
	-	30 days after filing		Effective date:		
		Other (specify): X 30 days after filing Other (specify):				
Printed name and Title of persor	n authorize	d to file rules: <u>Rhonda Freeman</u>				
Signature of person authorized t	o file rules	Khonda Freeman	2			
OFFICIAL FILING STAMP		DO NOT WRITE BELOW THIS LINE OFFICIAL FILING STAMP		OFFICIAL FILING STAMP		
				MAR 1 7 MISSISS	IPPI	
Accepted for filing by		ccepted for filing by	Ac	cepted for filing by	AU	

The entire text of the Proposed Rule including the text of any rule being amended or changed is attached.

Part 2620 Radiologist Assistants

Part 2620 Chapter 1: The Practice of Radiologist Assistants

Rule 1.1 Scope. The following rules pertain to radiologist assistants performing any x-ray procedure or operating any x-ray equipment in a physician's office, hospital or clinical setting.

The radiologist assistant shall evaluate the day's schedule of procedures with the supervising radiologist and determine where the radiologist assistant's skills will be best utilized.

After demonstrating competency, the radiologist assistant when ordered to do so by the supervising radiologist may:

- A. Perform selected procedures under the direct supervision of a radiologist including static and dynamic fluoroscopic procedures.
- B. Assess and evaluate the physiologic and psychological responsiveness of patients undergoing radiologic procedures.
- C. Evaluate image quality, make initial image observations and communicate observations of image quality to the supervising radiologist.
- D. Administer intravenous contrast media or other prescribed medications.

The radiologist assistant may not interpret images, make diagnoses, or prescribe medications or therapies.

The radiologist assistant shall adhere to the Code of Ethics of the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists and to national, institutional and/or departmental standards, policies and procedures regarding the standards of care for patients.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §41-58-7 (1972, as amended).

Rule 1.2 Definitions. For the purpose of Part 2620, Chapter 1 only, the following terms have the meanings indicated:

- A. "<u>A.R.R.T.</u>" American Registry of Radiologic Technologists.
- B. "<u>Full Certification</u>" Certification obtained by submitting certification issued by the A.R.R.T.
- C. "<u>Radiologist</u>" A physician licensed by the Mississippi State Board of Medical Licensure who is certified or eligible to be certified by the American Board of Radiology or the American Osteopathic Board of Radiology.
- D. "<u>Radiologist Assistant Certification</u>" Certification obtained by submitting proof of A.R.R.T. certification as a radiologist assistant which will enable the holder to perform any and all radiologist assistant procedures or functions as defined in Part 2620, Rule 1.3 in a radiology practice or radiologist's office.
- E. "<u>Direct Supervision</u>" The radiologist must be present in the office suite and immediately available to furnish assistance and direction throughout the performance of all procedures. "Direct supervision" does not mean that the supervising radiologist must be present in the room when the procedure is performed.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §41-58-7 (1972, as amended).

Rule 1.3 Qualifications for Licensure. Applicants for radiologist assistant licensure must be graduates of a radiologist assistant education program accredited by the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists or graduates of an RPA school holding an RA certification from the A.R.R.T., must have passed the radiologist assistant examination provided by the A.R.R.T., must have current and unencumbered registration as a radiologic technologist with the Mississippi State Department of Health, must have current certification in advanced cardiac life support (ACLS), and must meet the following additional requirements:

- A. Satisfy the Board that he or she is at least twenty-one (21) years of age and of good moral character.
- B. Submit an application for license on a form supplied by the Board, completed in every detail with a recent passport type photograph.
- C. Pay the appropriate fee as determined by the Board.
- D. Present a certified copy of birth certificate or valid passport.
- E. Submit proof of legal change of name if applicable (notarized or certified copy of marriage license or other legal proceeding).
- F. Provide information on registration or licensure in all other states where the applicant is or has been registered or licensed as a radiologist assistant.
- G. No basis or grounds exist for the denial of licensure as provided at Part 2620, Rule 1.12.

Radiologist assistants meeting these licensure requirements will be eligible for license renewal so long as they meet standard renewal requirements.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §41-58-7 (1972, as amended).

Rule 1.4 Supervision. Before any radiologist shall supervise a radiologist assistant, the radiologist must present to the Board's Executive Director a duly executed protocol and obtain written approval to act as a supervising radiologist. The facts and matters to be considered by the Board when approving or disapproving a protocol or supervision arrangement shall include, but are not limited to, how the supervising radiologist and radiologist assistant plan to implement the protocol, the method and manner of supervision, consultation, referral and liability.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §41-58-7 (1972, as amended).

Rule 1.5 Supervising Physician Limited. No radiologist shall be authorized to supervise a radiologist assistant unless that radiologist holds an unrestricted license to practice medicine in the state of Mississippi.

The employing radiologist(s) shall exercise supervision and assume full control and responsibility for the services provided by any person practicing as a radiologist assistant employed in the radiologist's practice. Any services being provided by a radiologist assistant must be performed at either the physical location of the radiologist's primary medical practice or any healthcare facility where the supervising radiologist holds staff privileges.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §41-58-7 (1972, as amended).

Rule 1.6 Termination. The radiologist assistant and supervising radiologist shall notify the Board in writing immediately upon the radiologist assistant's termination; radiologist retirement;

withdrawal from active practice; or any other change in employment, functions or activities. Failure to notify can result in disciplinary action.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §41-58-7 (1972, as amended).

Rule 1.7 Duty to Notify Board of Change of Address. Any radiologist assistant who is licensed or receives a license to practice as a radiologist assistant in this state and thereafter changes his or her practice location or mailing address from what was noted in the application upon which he or she received a license, shall immediately notify the Board in writing of the change. Failure to notify within 30 days could result in disciplinary action.

The Board routinely sends information to licensed radiologist assistants. Whether it be by U.S. Mail or electronically, it is important that this information is received by the licensee. The licensure record of the licensee should include a physical practice location, mailing address, email address and telephone number where the Board can correspond with the licensee directly. The Board discourages the use of office personnel's mailing and email addresses as well as telephone numbers. Failure to provide the Board with direct contact information could result in disciplinary action.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §41-58-7 (1972, as amended).

Rule 1.8 Continuing Education. Biennially attend and complete at least twenty-four (24) hours of radiological related continuing education courses sponsored or approved by any of the following organizations:

- A. Mississippi Society of Radiologic Technologists
- B. Mississippi Radiological Society
- C. Mississippi Medical Association or Mississippi Osteopathic Medical Association
- D. American Medical Association or American Osteopathic Association
- E. American Society of Radiologic Technologists
- F. American Registry of Radiologic Technologists
- G. American College of Radiology or American Osteopathic College of Radiology

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §41-58-7 (1972, as amended).

Rule 1.9 Identification. The supervising physician shall be responsible to ensure that any radiologist assistant under his or her supervision does not advertise or otherwise hold himself or herself out in any manner which would tend to mislead the general public or patients. Radiologist assistants shall at all times when on duty wear a name tag, placard or plate identifying themselves as radiologist assistants.

Radiologist assistants may not advertise in any manner which implies that the radiologist assistant is an independent practitioner.

A person not licensed as a radiologist assistant by the Board who holds himself or herself out as a radiologist assistant is subject to the penalties applicable to the unlicensed practice of medicine.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §41-58-7 (1972, as amended).

Rule 1.10 Physician Liability. Prior to the supervision of a radiologist assistant, the physician's and/or radiologist assistant's insurance carrier must forward to the Board a Certificate of Insurance.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §41-58-7 (1972, as amended).

Rule 1.11 Renewal Schedule. The license of every person licensed to practice as a radiologist assistant in the state of Mississippi shall be renewed annually.

On or before May 1 of each year, the State Board of Medical Licensure shall notify every radiologist assistant to whom a license was issued or renewed during the current licensing year the process of licensure renewal. The notice shall provide instructions for obtaining and submitting applications for renewal. The applicant shall obtain and complete the application and submit it to the Board in the manner prescribed by the Board in the notice before June 30 with the renewal fee of an amount established by the Board. The payment of the annual license renewal fee shall be optional with all radiologist assistants over the age of seventy (70) years. Upon receipt of the application and fee, the Board shall verify the accuracy of the application and issue to applicant a certificate of renewal for the ensuing year, beginning July 1 and expiring June 30 of the succeeding calendar year. Such renewal shall render the holder thereof a licensed radiologist assistant as stated on the renewal form.

A radiologist assistant practicing in Mississippi who allows his or her license to lapse by failing to renew the license as provided in this rule may be reinstated by the Board upon completion of a reinstatement form and payment of the renewal fee for the current year, and shall be assessed a fine of Twenty-five Dollars (\$25.00) plus an additional fine of Five Dollars (\$5.00) for each month thereafter that the license renewal remains delinquent.

Any radiologist assistant not practicing in Mississippi who allows his or her license to lapse by failing to renew the license as provided in this rule may be reinstated by the Board upon completion of a reinstatement form and payment of the arrearage for the previous five (5) years and the renewal fee for the current year.

Any radiologist assistant who allows his or her license to lapse shall be notified by the Board within thirty (30) days of such lapse.

Any person practicing as a radiologist assistant during the time his or her license has lapsed shall be considered an illegal practitioner and shall be subject to the same penalties as provided at Mississippi Code, Section 73-25-14.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §41-58-7 (1972, as amended).

Rule 1.12 Disciplinary Proceedings.

A. Grounds for Disciplinary Action Against Radiologist Assistants

For the purpose of conducting disciplinary actions against individuals licensed to practice as radiologist assistants, the Board hereby incorporates those grounds for the nonissuance, suspension, revocation, or restriction of a license or the denial of reinstatement or renewal of a license, as set forth in Mississippi Code, Sections 73-25-29 and 73-25-83. As a basis for denial, suspension, revocation or other restriction, the Board may initiate disciplinary proceedings based upon any one or more of those grounds as set forth in Sections 73-25-29 and 73-25-83, and may make provision for the assessment of costs as provided therein.

B. Hearing Procedure and Appeals

No individual shall be denied a license or have his or her license suspended, revoked or restriction placed thereon, unless the individual licensed as a radiologist assistant has been given notice and opportunity to be heard. For the purpose of notice, disciplinary hearings and appeals, the Board hereby adopts and incorporates by reference all provisions of the "Rules of Procedure" now utilized by the Board for those individuals licensed to practice medicine, osteopathic medicine, and podiatric medicine in the state of Mississippi.

- C. Reinstatement of License
 - 1. A person whose license to practice as a radiologist assistant has been revoked, suspended, or otherwise restricted may petition the Mississippi State Board of Medical Licensure to reinstate his or her license after a period of not less than one (1) year has elapsed from the date of the revocation or suspension. The procedure for the reinstatement of a license that is suspended for being out of compliance with an order for support, as defined in Section 93-11-153, shall be governed by Sections 93-11-157 or 93-11-163, as the case may be.
 - 2. The petition shall be accompanied by two (2) or more verified recommendations from physicians or osteopaths licensed by the Board of Medical Licensure to which the petition is addressed and by two (2) or more recommendations from citizens each having personal knowledge of the activities of the petitioner since the disciplinary penalty was imposed and such facts as may be required by the Board of Medical Licensure.

The petition may be heard at the next regular meeting of the Board of Medical Licensure but not earlier than thirty (30) days after the petition was filed. No petition shall be considered while the petitioner is under sentence for any criminal offense, including any period during which he or she is under probation or parole. The hearing may be continued from time to time as the Board of Medical Licensure finds necessary.

3. In determining whether the disciplinary penalty should be set aside and the terms and conditions, if any, which should be imposed if the disciplinary penalty is set aside, the Board of Medical Licensure may investigate and consider all activities of the petitioner since the disciplinary action was taken against him or her, the offense for which he or she was disciplined, his or her activity during the time his or her certificate was in good standing, his or her general reputation for truth, professional ability and good character; and it may require the petitioner to pass an oral examination.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §41-58-7 (1972, as amended).

Rule 1.13 Impaired Radiologist Assistants. For the purpose of the Mississippi Disabled Physician Law, Mississippi Code, Sections 73-25-51 to 73-25-67, any individual licensed to practice as a

radiologist assistant shall be subject to restriction, suspension, or revocation in the case of disability by reason of one or more of the following:

- A. mental illness
- B. physical illness, including but not limited to deterioration through the aging process, or loss of motor skills
- C. excessive use or abuse of drugs, including alcohol

If the Board has reasonable cause to believe that a radiologist assistant is unable to practice with reasonable skill and safety to patients because of one or more of the conditions described above, referral of the radiologist assistant shall be made, and action taken, if any, in the manner as provided in Sections 73-25-55 through 73-25-65, including referral to the Mississippi Professionals Health Program, sponsored by the Mississippi State Medical Association.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §41-58-7 (1972, as amended).

Rule 1.14 Effective Date of Rules. The above rules pertaining to the practice of radiologist assistants shall become effective upon adoption.

Adopted November 16, 2005; amended July 20, 2006; amended November 8, 2007; amended July 10, 2008; amended July 10, 2014; and amended March 16, 2017.

Source: Miss. Code Ann. §41-58-7 (1972, as amended).