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Permanent Medical Licensure Reinstatement Application Instructions 

IMPORTANT 
 

Any physician, osteopath, podiatrist, or physician assistant not practicing in Mississippi 
who allows his/her license to lapse by failing to renew the license within 12 months may 
be reinstated by the board on satisfactory explanation for the failure to renew, by 
completion of a reinstatement application and upon payment of the arrearages of 
renewal fees. 
 
Prior to the reinstatement of a license, any licensee who has not actively practiced for a 
three (3) year period shall be required to participate in a Board approved physician 
assessment program and/or clinical skills assessment program to assure post-licensure 
competency. A physician, osteopath, podiatrist, and physician assistant shall be 
deemed to have not “actively” practiced medicine if during said three (3) year period, the 
physician has not treated any patients for remuneration, other than friends and family. 
This requirement does not apply to those licensees who perform charity work or work in 
research. For a list of Board approved programs visit this link: 
https://www.msbml.ms.gov/sites/default/files/Approved%20Competency%20facilties.pdf 
 
The application fee is $250 and is non-refundable. If the application is approved for 
license reinstatement, the applicant will then be required to pay arrearages of renewal 
fees for the years since expiration (up to a maximum of 5 years), plus the current year. 
In addition, the applicant will be assessed a fine of Twenty-five Dollars ($25) per year, 
plus an additional fine of Five Dollars ($5) for each month that the license remains 
delinquent. 
 
The initial $250.00 application fee will be deducted from the arrears due. 
 
For reinstatements submitted after April 1, the applicant will be charged for, and will 
receive an active license that expires on June 30 of the current year. 
 
Once an application has been submitted, the application progress may be reviewed via 
the applicant’s Licensure Gateway. Applicants can use the following website address to 
login and access their Licensure Gateway account: https://gateway.msbml.ms.gov. 
Refunds WILL NOT be issued under any circumstances.  
 
Questions regarding reinstatement applications may be directed to the licensing 

professional at the following email address: licofficer4@msbml.ms.gov 

 

 

https://www.msbml.ms.gov/sites/default/files/Approved%20Competency%20facilties.pdf
https://gateway.msbml.ms.gov/
licofficer4@msbml.ms.gov
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Items submitted by the applicant 

Submit the following items upon completion of the online application and initial 

reinstatement fees. All documents received become the property of the Board and will 

not be returned.  

 

(A) Affidavit and Perpetual Release Form. Applicant shall carefully read the oath 

of truthfulness of information supplied in this form which gives consent to release 

information to and from the Board. Applicant must sign and notarize (see notary 

guide) this form. A copy of this form must be included with each hospital 

privileges form sent to a hospital. The ORIGINAL “Affidavit and Perpetual 

Release of Information” form must be mailed to the Board.  

 

(B) Mississippi Practice Plans. Applicant must provide an explanation regarding 

their practice plans in the State of Mississippi should his or her application for 

reinstatement is approved. Practice Plans may be emailed to 

licofficer4@msbml.ms.gov.  

 

(C) Photograph. Applicant must attach a photograph taken within the last sixty (60) 

days to the date of the Affidavit and Perpetual Release of Information form. This 

should be a wallet-sized, passport-type photograph attached to the Affidavit and 

Perpetual Release of Information form. Informal snapshots will not be accepted. 

(See Photograph Guidelines) 

 

(D) Electronic Photograph. Applicant must also provide an electronic, passport-

type photograph taken within the last sixty (60) days. Photo must be uploaded via 

the Licensure Gateway. (See Photograph Guidelines) 

 

(E) Applicant Fingerprints. If an applicant’s license has lapsed for five (5) years or 

more, he or she is required to submit fingerprints. The Board may, at its’ 

discretion, require fingerprints for applicants whose license has lapsed 

less than five (5) years. Applicant may submit fingerprints via three ways:  

 

a. Two Standard FD-258 fingerprint cards will be mailed to the address 
the applicant supplies when the application is submitted. The 
applicant may have the cards completed at their local law enforcement 
agency, or other fingerprinting service provider for processing and 
return them to the Board.  

mailto:licofficer4@msbml.ms.gov
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b. Some law enforcement agencies and other fingerprinting service 
providers will provide the Standard FD-258 fingerprint cards. Once 
completed, the applicant should submit the completed cards to the 
Board.  

c. LiveScan prints can be completed at MSBML. If an applicant selects 
this option, he or she will be contacted by the Board, once the 
application has been reviewed and approved by the Board for 
licensure, to schedule a LiveScan fingerprinting appointment.  
 

(F) Reinstatement Fees. Upon the Board’s approval of an application for 

reinstatement, the applicant will be required to submit payment of the arrearages 

for the previous five (5) years plus the current renewal year. This fee also 

includes an annual late fee of $25.00 per year, plus an additional fine of $5.00 for 

each month that the license remains delinquent. The initial application fee of 

$250.00 will be credited to arrears due.  
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Verifications to be requested by the applicant.  

Primary source verifications are required. Verifications will only be accepted if sent 

directly from the institution to the Board. Do not have institutions send verifications back 

to the applicant or other third party. Board policy requires original documents from 

primary source. Verifications may be returned to the Board via email or mail. Email is 

preferable.   

 

(A)      Appendix A.  Applicant must contact each state in which he/she holds or has 

held a license to practice medicine to determine the best method of having licensure 

verification submitted to the Board. This includes active and inactive licenses. 

Appendix A may be used for states requiring written requests. The Board also 

accepts licensure certifications processed through VeriDoc at: 

https://www.veridoc.org.index.aspx. Here is another helpful link made available by 

the FSMB for physicians on how to obtain license verifications from state medical 

boards: https://www.fsmb.org/siteassets/ua/x-pdfs/licensure-verification-

information.pdf.  

  

(B)      Appendix B.  Applicant must account for all time since the issuance of his or her 

Mississippi Medical License.  All activities following the issuance of his or her 

Mississippi Medical License must be accounted for. Each activity for the past five (5) 

years must be verified by the institution. Applicant shall send this form to the 

institution where activities were performed. The Board may, at its’ discretion, 

request additional verification of activities beyond the 5 years. Activities which 

occurred outside of the U.S. or Canada does not require verification.   

 

(C)      Appendix C.  Applicant shall request verification of hospital or staffing privileges 

he/she currently holds or previously held within the past five (5) years to be 

submitted directly to the Board. The Board may, at its’ discretion, request 

additional verification of hospital or staffing privileges beyond the 5 years. 

Privileges held outside of the U.S. or Canada does require verification.   

 

(D)  DPM Applicants Only. Reports from Council on Podiatric Medical Education 

(CPME), National Board of Podiatric Medical Examiners (NMBPE), and (American 

Podiatric Medical Association (APMA) should be requested and sent directly to the 

Board.  

https://www.veridoc.org.index.aspx/
https://www.fsmb.org/siteassets/ua/x-pdfs/licensure-verification-information.pdf
https://www.fsmb.org/siteassets/ua/x-pdfs/licensure-verification-information.pdf

