
Reinstatement Requirements                   March 2001

Mississippi State Board of Medical Licensure
G:\Rein\2001 rein licensure req.wpd Page 1 of  1

Prior to the issuance of, or reinstatement of a license, any physician, osteopathic physician, or podiatrist who
has not actively practiced for a three (3) year period shall be required to participate in a Board approved
physician assessment program and/or clinical skills assessment program to assure post-licensure
competency.

A physician shall be deemed to have not “actively” practiced medicine if during said three (3) year period
the physician has not treated any patients for remuneration, other than friends and family.

This section excludes those physicians, osteopathic physicians, or podiatrists who perform charity work or
work in research.

Any physician, osteopath or podiatrist not practicing in Mississippi who allows his license to lapse by failing
to renew the license may be reinstated by the board on satisfactory explanation for the failure to renew, by
completion of a reinstatement form and upon payment of the arrearages for the previous five (5) years plus
the current year and shall be assessed a fine of Twenty-five Dollars ($25.00) per year plus an additional fine
of Five Dollars ($5.00) for each month that the license remains delinquent.


